Update: NYS Department of Labor Issues Paid Sick Leave Guidance
The New York State Department of Labor has issued guidance about the new paid sick leave law. All AGC NYS members are strongly encouraged to review the new paid sick leave law requirements.
Additionally, AGC NYS is hosting an informative webinar about the NYS Paid Sick Leave Law and Other Pandemic Leave Laws on Wednesday, October 28 from 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm. You can register for the webinar at this link.
On April 3, 2020, Governor Cuomo signed legislation establishing the right to paid leave for New Yorkers. New York’s paid sick leave law requires employers with five or more employees or net income of more than $1 million to provide paid sick leave to employees and for employers with fewer than five employees and a net income of $1 million or less to provide unpaid sick leave to employees. This new law is in addition to the New York State provisions already in effect providing emergency paid sick time due to COVID-19. On September 30, 2020, covered employees in New York State began to accrue leave at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. On January 1, 2021, employees may start using accrued leave.
Register now for the Paid Sick Leave Law webinar to learn about how all private sector employers need to change their policies to accommodate its accrual, carryover, and use requirements. Additionally, the webinar presenters will discuss how the new law interacts with state and federal pandemic related paid sick leave programs. Presenters: Glen P. Doherty, Partner, Hodgson Russ LLP; Charles H. Kaplan, Partner, Hodgson Russ LLP; and Melissa J. Kathan, Associate, Hodgson Russ LLP.
Once registered online you will automatically be forwarded to the AGC NYS online payment page. Fee: $35 per AGC NYS Member / $55 per non-member.